Tourist Visa

Foreign Nationals can apply and obtain visas to visit Nepal at our office in Hong Kong. Except for 12 countries listed below, foreign nationals can also obtain visa on arrival at the Tribhuwan International Airport and all other immigration entry points in Nepal.

How to obtain Tourist Visa in the Consulate General of Nepal in Hong Kong.

    • Fill Online Visa application in this link (Fill Online Visa Application here).
    • After submitting the form, kindly print or download generated slip and send it to the email ‘’ for the appointment.
    • Visit Consulate on appointment time and date to collect Visa.
    • Currently we are issuing Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) Visa.
    • Valid passport or Travel Document with at least six months validity from the date of entry into Nepal is required.
    • For holders of Travel Document for Travelling Purpose from HKSAR (Yellow Booklet), please submit sponsorship letter from Nepal and copy of citizenship/passport of sponsor.
  • All foreign nationals, except Indian nationals, require visa to enter Nepal.
  • Payment of Visa fees (except tourists holding passports of SAARC countries and Chinese nationals)

Tourist Visa — Fee Structure

S.N. Particulars Visa Fee
  • Children below 10 years except US citizenS
  • Up to 30 days for SAARC Citizen (except Afghanistan) visiting Nepal for the first time in a given visa Year.  Afghan citizen are eligible for Gratis Visa on Arrival only upon the recommendation of Department of Immigration. If you are an Afghan citizen, you can request concerned institution inviting you to Nepal for necessary paperwork with Department of Immigration to get you Gratis Visa ‘On Arrival’
  • Non Residential Nepalese(NRN) card holder ( issued by MoFA /Nepalese diplomatic missions abroad
  • Chinese Nationals for 150 days
Gratis / Free Visa
B Fee Structure Applicable in Hong Kong

  • 15 – day multiple entries
  • 30 – day multiple entries
  • 90 – day multiple entries

  • HK$ 250
  • HK$ 400
  • HK$ 1000
C On Arrival Fee Structure Applicable in International Airport in Kathmandu

  • 15 – day multiple entries
  • 30 – day multiple entries
  • 90 – day multiple entries

  • US$ 30
  • US$ 50
  • US$ 125
        • Once the visa is issued, it will not be amended, re-validated and visa fees will not be refunded.
        • Personal cheques and credit cards are not accepted for visa fees.
        • If applicant wishes to obtain visa on arrival, two pp sized photographs should be presented
        • Visa once issued cannot be withdrawn, visa fee cannot be refunded after visa is issued, and it must be used within six months from the date of issue.

Other information for the Tourists

          • There will be no charge for children under 10 years. However, visa is required.
          • Tourist visa may also be obtained at any of the following entry points: Tribhuvan International Airport Kathmandu, Pokhara International Airport, Gautam Buddha International Airport, Biratnagar (Jogbani), Birgunj (Raxaul), Bhairahawa (Sunauli) and Kakarbhitta (Panitanki) along Nepal-India border and Kodari and Rasuwagadhi at Nepal-China border.
          • Tourist traveling on a short duration visas can get them extended if they so desire. The Department of Immigration, Kathmandu and Pokhara Immigration Office provides visa extension service.
          • Tourists carrying more than US $5,000.00 or equivalent foreign currency are requested to declare in the Custom Declaration Form at the time of arrival in Nepal.

Entry validity:
Six months from the date of issue. The validity of visa dates is counted from the date of arrival in Nepal.

Visa Extension:
A tourist visa can be extended from the Department of Immigration and Pokhara Immigration Office for a period of not exceeding 150 days in a year. Over the course of a visa year, a tourist cannot stay in Nepal more than cumulative 150 days.

Information for Indian Citizens 
Indian citizens are allowed to make travel in Nepal on the basis of the following document:

          • Passport, or
          • Driving license with photograph, or
          • Identity card with photograph issued by a governmental body, or
          • Ration card with photograph, or
          • Voter identity card with photograph, or
          • Registration certificate issued by the Indian embassy to the Indian citizen staying in Nepal, or
          • Ad hoc/temporary identity card issued by the Indian embassy to the Indian   citizen in the event of exigency, or
          • Document with photograph and setting out identity, issued by the sub-divisional magistrate or authority there above.

No Visa on Arrival:
Nationals of following countries do not get visa on arrival at the immigration entry points of Nepal:

          1. Nigeria
          2. Ghana
          3. Zimbabwe
          4. Swaziland
          5. Cameroon
          6. Somalia
          7. Liberia
          8. Ethiopia
          9. Iraq
          10. Palestine
          11. Afghanistan
          12. Syria

For more information, visit the Immigration Nepal Page.